Initiated by guitarist Atte Jääskelä in Northern Finland during 2007. After few transformations, in 2009 the band found a definitive direction with new line up and began to use the name NICUMO. Strong vocals, heavy rhythm section and recognizable emotional melodies provides a musical mixture that is worth to hear.

After two EPs; “Close Our Eyes For Good” (2010) and “Scars & Glassy Eyes” (2011), Nicumo released their debut album “The End Of Silence” (2013, Inverse Records). Appropriately named debut reached a 24th place on The Official Finnish-TOP50 Chart on it’s first week and proved to be a critical success in all reviews published.

After "The End Of Silence" Nicumo has been noted widely in metal underground and the band has played dozens of gigs in different countries for growing audiences. Touring has increased Nicumo's technical and musical performance to whole new level. After a long creation progress Nicumo was ready to publish their second album “Storms Arise” (2017, Inverse Records). Well received album ended up to 12th place on The Official Finnish-TOP50 Charts, being the best-selling new album on its release week.

After "Storms Arise" was released, band toured in Finland and abroad increasing their international popularity. In 2018 Nicumo released two singles while streaming numbers continued to increase from tens to hundreds of thousands in major streaming services.

In early 2019 Nicumo started to produce their third album while doing tour. On same year Nicumo made a new territorial conquest by taking part on Suomi Feast 2019 tour in Japan among other Finnish metal bands. Nicumo also released two singles, “Who you Are” and “Tree of Life”, from their upcoming album

Third album will be released in March 2020.

Nicumo’s music has its roots in melodic metal, but the style today has taken many fearless sidesteps to another genres. Due the bands home region, north is the strongest unifying element you can hear in Nicumo’s music. The strength in the band’s music is versatility, from very punchy pop-rock to more progressive and even mesmerizing vibrations and all the way back to straight death metal.


Tapio Anttiroiko, Guitars and backing vocals
Atte Jääskelä, Guitars
Hannu Karppinen, Lead vocals
Sami Kotila,Bass
Aki Pusa, Drums